Indigenous Liaison Nurses

Indigenous Liaison Nurses (ILNs) can advocate on your behalf, helping you access referrals, benefit information and more with ease.

Indigenous Liaison Nurses can help

  • access non-insured health benefits as needed
  • access to the All Nations' Healing Room in the Patient Care Centre
  • discharge planning and communication with community contacts
  • get a hardship parking pass for one family member 
  • refer you to community services 
  • refer you to Spiritual Health as requested
  • support for you and your family during a hospital stay 
  • understand health care issues 

As an Indigenous patient, you have a right to

  • ask questions about your health care
  • be acknowledged as an individual
  • be cared for in a respectful, dignified and culturally safe manner by health care professionals
  • be consulted and actively participate in decisions about your health care
  • freedom from verbal, physical and sexual abuse, or neglect
  • get a second opinion from another doctor
  • privacy and confidentiality of your health information
  • request access to the information in your health record
  • refuse to have students, residents and other training present during your appointment or examination
  • refuse treatment, unless you have a serious communicable disease that could harm other people such as TB or Syphilis

General Information on Indigenous Liaison Nurses

Referral Required?
Not required
Contact Us
Alert Bay 

Namgis Health Centre

Teliah Vollick
Phone: 250-974-5522 ext. 2184
Cell: 250-974-8314
Fax: 250-974-2698
Email: teliah.vollick@namgis.bc

Campbell River 

Nadine Kruger, RN
Phone: 250-286-7100 ext. 67305 
Cell: 250-830-8865
Fax: 250-286-7177
Email: Nadine.Kruger@islandhealth.ca

Comox

Laurel Anderson, RN
Phone: 250-331-5900 ext. 65308
Cell:  250-650-5714
Email: laurel.anderson@islandhealth.ca

Emily Mark, Weekend ALN
Cell: 250-588-6481
Email: emily.mark@islandhealth.ca

Cowichan District Hospital

Angie Gibson
C/O Ts'ewultun Health Centre
Phone: 250-746-6184 ext. 321
Cell: 250-709-8204
Email: angie.gibson@cowichantribes.com

Mt. Waddington

Port Hardy Hospital

Benedict Leonard, MPH, BScN, RN(c)
C/O Port Hardy Health Unit / Port Hardy Hospital
Cell: 250-713-4549
Phone: 250-902-6011 ext. 66985
Fax: 250-902-6030
Email: benedict.leonard@islandhealth.ca

Nanaimo

Carla Young (Monday to Friday)
Phone: 250-755-7691 ext. 52095
Cell: 250-741-4234
Fax: 250-755-3361
Email: carla.young@islandhealth.ca

Joanne vanengelsdorp – NRGH Monday - Thursday
Phone: 250-755-7691 ext. 52095
Cell: 250-883-3010
Email: Joanne.vanengelsdorp@islandhealth.ca

Port Alberni

West Coast General Hospital

Monday to Friday: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Deb Melvin, LPN
WCGH Aboriginal Liaison Nurse
Hours: Services Available 7 Days A Week 
Phone: 250-723-1390 ext. 48109
Cell: 250-735-4319
Fax: 250-731-1342
Email: Deb.Melvin@islandhealth.ca or Deb.Melvin@nuuchahnulth.org

Claudette Lucas, LPN
WCGH Aboriginal Liaison Nurse
Hours: Services Available 7 Days A Week 
Phone: 250-723-1390 ext. 48109
Cell: 250-735-4319

Linda Smith, LPN
Nurse Navigator
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Phone: 250-724-5757 ext. 280
Cell: 250-731-5392

Becki Nookemis, BA
Client Navigator
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Phone: 250-724-5757 ext. 264
Cell: 250-735-3033

Saanich

Saanich Peninsula Hospital

Jane Fox, RN BScN
Phone: 250-652-7590
Cell: 778-677-0774
Fax: 250-652-7547
Email: jane.fox@islandhealth.ca

Tofino

Tofino General Hospital: Monday - Friday

Cynthia Fitton
Email: cynthia.fitton@islandhealth.ca
Phone: 250-725-4010
Cell: 250-735-1014
Fax: 250-725-4012

Tofino General Hospital: Weekends

Megan Jarchow
Phone: 250-725-4010
Cell: 250-735-1014
Fax: 250-725-4012
Email: megan.jarchow@islandhealth.ca

Victoria

Victoria General Hospital

Monique Pat, RPN
Phone: 250-519-5479
Cell:  250-480-8333
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: monique.pat@islandhealth.ca

Megan Corder (11 a.m. - 7 p.m.)
Phone: 250-727-4000 ext. 15462
Cell: 250-516-9394
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: meghan.corder@islandhealth.ca

Cody Kirkpatrick, LN: Saturday - Monday
Cell: 250-217-0934
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: Cody.Kirkpatrick@islandhealth.ca

Royal Jubilee Hospital

Simi Ono, ALN
Phone: 250-370-8847
Cell: 250-812-1464
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: simi.ono@islandhealth.ca

Selina Bickle
Phone: 250-370-8847 x18447
Cell: 250-580-4922
Email: selina.bickle@islandhealth.ca

Catherine Condy
Cell: 250-580-3920
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: Catherine.Condy@islandhealth.ca

News & Events

image of accord signing

Vancouver Island Partnership Accord Renews Commitment for First Nation’s Health Outcomes

A renewed commitment to improve the health and wellness outcomes of all First Nations people living in the Island Health region has been made.

Read more

A Family Tradition: Three Generations of Nursing Care

A Family Tradition: Three Generations of Nursing Care

Donna McLeod, Shelley McLeod-Garner and Michelle King share something beyond genes.

Read more

parking sign

Pay parking resumes March 4, 2022

Effective March 4, 2022, pay parking will resume at all Island Health sites that previously had pay parking in place. 

Read more