OUR VISION:

Excellent health and care for everyone, everywhere, every time.



Tel: 250-370-8699 | Fax: 250-370-8750

islandhealth.ca

June 12, 2025

Honourable Josie Osborne Minister of Health PO Box 9050 Stn Prov Govt Victoria BC V8W 9E2

Dear Minister Osborne,

Thank you for your letter of June 5, 2025, outlining the Government's direction, priorities and expectations of Island Health for the 2025/26 fiscal year.

I am pleased to provide you with the enclosed signed copy of the Island Health's mandate letter. We remain committed to aligning with government priorities by delivering high quality accessible, and equitable care while pursuing administrative and operational efficiencies.

In signing this letter, the Board wishes to highlight the risk and tension in managing the significant financial challenges while also achieving service expectations outlined. Given this, we may be challenged to fully meet the stated objectives within this fiscal year.

As the Board Chair, I can assure of our strong commitment to provide timely, high-quality, and safe care for the people we serve while working within our allocated budget and bending the cost curve. We are also committed to actively participating in the Regional Health Authority Review with the Ministry of Health to identify further opportunities for efficiency and cost savings while balancing safety and quality. We look forward to our continued partnership in building a stronger, more sustainable health care system for the people we serve.

Sincerely,

Leah Hollins

Island Health Board Chair

Louh Hollins

Attachment: Island Health 2025/26 Mandate Letter

pc: Honourable David Eby, KC, Premier

Shannon Salter, Deputy Minister to the Premier, Cabinet Secretary and Head of the BC Public Service

Doug Scott, Deputy Minister and Secretary to Treasury Board, Ministry of Finance

Elenore Arend, Associate Deputy Minister, Crown Agencies Secretariat, Ministry of Finance

Cynthia Johansen, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Health

Andy Adams, Board Member, Island Health

Diane Brennan, Board Member, Island Health

Shaunee Casavant, Board Member, Island Health

Harold Cull, Board Member, Island Health

Anne Davis, Board Member, Island Health

Joanna Gislason, Board Member, Island Health

Anne McFarlane, Board Member, Island Health

Dr. Morgan Price, Board Member, Island Health

Ron Rice, Board Member, Island Health

Kathy MacNeil, President and Chief Executive Officer, Island Health