Aboriginal Liaison Nurses

Aboriginal Liaison Nurses (ALNs) can advocate on your behalf, helping you access referrals, benefit information and more with ease.

Aboriginal Liaison Nurses can help

  • access non-insured health benefits as needed
  • access to the All Nations' Healing Room in the Patient Care Centre
  • discharge planning and communication with community contacts
  • get a hardship parking pass for one family member 
  • refer you to community services 
  • refer you to Pastoral Care as requested
  • support for you and your family during a hospital stay 
  • understand health care issues 

As an Aboriginal patient, you have a right to

  • ask questions about your health care
  • be acknowledged as an individual
  • be cared for in a respectful, dignified and culturally safe manner by health care professionals
  • be consulted and actively participate in decisions about your health care
  • freedom from verbal, physical and sexual abuse, or neglect
  • get a second opinion from another doctor
  • privacy and confidentiality of your health information
  • request access to the information in your health record
  • refuse to have students, residents and other training present during your appointment or examination
  • refuse treatment, unless you have a serious communicable disease that could harm other people such as TB or Syphilis

General Information on Aboriginal Liaison Nurses

Referral Required?
Not required
Contact Us
Alert Bay 

Alert Bay ALN Brochure 

Rachel Fulmore, BSN, RN
rachel.fulmore@viha.ca
Phone: 250-974-5522 ext. 2130
Cell: 250-974-7126
Fax: 250-974-2698

Campbell River 

Campbell River General ALN Brochure 

Nadine Kruger, RN
Phone: 250-286-7100 ext. 67305 
Cell: 250-830-8865
Fax: 250-286-7177
Email: Nadine.Kruger@viha.ca

Comox

Comox Valley Hospital ALN Brochure 

Laurel Anderson, RN
Phone: 250-331-5900 ext. 65308
Cell:  250-650-5714
Email: laurel.anderson@viha.ca

Cowichan District

Cowichan District Hospital ALN Brochure 

Helen Dunlop, RN
C/O Ts'ewultun Health Centre
Phone: 250-746-6184  ext. 321
Cell: 250-709-8204
Email: helen.dunlop@cowichantribes.com

Mt. Waddington

Mount Waddington ALN Brochure 

VACANT, MPH, BScN, RN(c)
C/O Port Hardy Health Unit / Port Hardy Hospital
Cell: 250-949-0340
Phone: 250-902-6011 ext: 66985
Fax: 250-902-6030
Email: rebecca.olesen@viha.ca

Nanaimo

Nanaimo Regional General Hospital ALN Brochure 

C/O Tillicum Lelum Aboriginal Friendship Centre     

Carol Nelson, RN
Phone: 250-755-7691 ext.52095
Cell: 250-741-4234
Email: carol.nelson@viha.ca 

Port Alberni

Westcoast General Hospital ALN Brochure 

Monday to Friday: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Deb Melvin, LPN
Email: Deb.Melvin@viha.ca or Deb.Melvin@nuuchahnulth.org
Phone: 250-731-1370 Ext: 48109
Cell: 250-735-4319
Fax: 250-731-1342

Saturday to Sunday: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Gerri Thomas, RN
Email: Gerri.thomas@viha.ca or gerri.thomas@nuuchahnulth.org
Phone: 250-731-1370 ext: 48109
Cell: 250-735-4319
Fax: 250-731-1342

Nurse Navigator - for those who are away from home

Lesley Cerny, RN 
Lesley.Cerny@nuuchahnulth.org
Phone: 250-724-5757
Cell: 250-731-5392
Fax: 250-723-5396

Nuu-chah-nulth Community & Human services

Saanich

Saanich Peninsula Hospital ALN Brochure 

Jane Fox, RN BScN
Phone: 250-652-7590
Cell: 778-677-0774
Fax: 250-652-7547
Email: jane.fox@viha.ca

Tofino

Tofino General Hospital CTLN Brochure 

Sarah Gordon
Email: sarah.gordon@viha.ca
Lauren Vanderploeg
Email: lauren.vanderploeg@viha.ca
Phone: 250-725-4010 ext. 64143
Cell: 250-735-1014
Fax: 250-725-4012
 

Victoria

Victoria Hospitals ALN Brochure 

Monique Pat, RPN
Phone: 250-519-1905
Cell:  250-480-8333
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: monique.pat@viha.ca

Cathy Condy, RN
Phone: 250-370-8847
Cell: 250-812-1464
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: catherine.condy@viha.ca

News & Events

Urgent and primary care centre coming to Esquimalt

People living in Esquimalt and neighbouring communities will soon have better access to team-based everyday health care with planning for an urgent and primary care centre.

Read more

British Columbians warned of Salmonella infections

British Columbians warned of Salmonella infections

British Columbia (B.C.) is one of five provinces experiencing an ongoing Salmonella outbreak.

Read more

A passion for public health: meet Mike Benusic, Island Health’s new MHO

A passion for public health: meet Mike Benusic, Island Health’s new MHO

Sometimes life really does come full circle – just ask Mike Benusic.

Read more